Clockwork Beast {6}

Artifact Creature — Beast

Clockwork Beast enters the battlefield with seven +1/+0 counters on it.

At end of combat, if Clockwork Beast attacked or blocked this combat, remove a +1/+0 counter from it.

{X}, {T}: Put up to X +1/+0 counters on Clockwork Beast. This ability can’t cause the total number of +1/+0 counters on Clockwork Beast to be greater than seven. Activate this ability only during your upkeep.


Illustrated by Drew Tucker

Duel Cmdr.
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Clockwork Beast
  • This is a change from the most recent wording. Now, if some other spell or ability causes +1/+0 counters to be put on Clockwork Beast, it can wind up with more than seven such counters on it. (2007-09-16)
  • If Clockwork Beast has seven or fewer +1/+0 counters on it when its last ability resolves, it can wind up a maximum of seven such counters on it. If it has seven or more +1/+0 counters on it, the ability will have no effect. (2007-09-16)
  • Clockwork Beast’s last ability resolves, you can choose to put fewer than X +1/+0 counters on it. (2007-09-16)
  • Loses a counter even if it is affected by a Fog-like effect which prevents it from dealing damage. (2004-10-04)
  • Can attack or block even if it has no counters. (2004-10-04)