Rock Hydra {X}{R}{R}

Creature — Hydra

Rock Hydra enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it.

For each 1 damage that would be dealt to Rock Hydra, if it has a +1/+1 counter on it, remove a +1/+1 counter from it and prevent that 1 damage.

{R}: Prevent the next 1 damage that would be dealt to Rock Hydra this turn.

{R}{R}{R}: Put a +1/+1 counter on Rock Hydra. Activate this ability only during your upkeep.

0/0

Illustrated by Jeff A. Menges

Part of the Reserved List

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Rock Hydra:
  • You can activate the activated ability that prevents damage any time, even if no source seems likely to deal damage to you in the near future. It will prevent the next 1 damage that would be dealt this turn, even if that turns out to be much later in the turn. (2008-08-01)
  • If damage that would be dealt to Rock Hydra can’t be prevented, you still remove a +1/+1 counter from it for each 1 damage dealt. (2008-08-01)
  • If put onto the battlefield without casting it from your hand, X will be zero. (2004-10-04)
  • Once on the battlefield, the X is considered to be zero when calculating its mana cost. (2004-10-04)