Chimeric Staff {4}


{X}: Chimeric Staff becomes an X/X Construct artifact creature until end of turn.

The staff unraveled in a chaotic chorus of clanging, becoming an improbable beast of hissing blades.

Illustrated by Michael Sutfin

Duel Cmdr.
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Chimeric Staff
  • If Chimeric Staff is already an artifact creature when you activate its ability, Chimeric Staff stays an artifact creature but the ability resets its creature types. You always apply the effect from this card before counters or other effects that modify power and toughness. For example, if you pay {3} to make it a 3/3, then someone gives it -1/-1, it will be a 2/2. If you then activate the ability with {4}, you will apply the “4/4” effect before the -1/-1 effect, so the end result will be a 3/3. Damage that was dealt to the creature stays on it. (2009-10-01)
  • A noncreature permanent that turns into a creature can attack, and its {T} abilities can be activated, only if its controller has continuously controlled that permanent since the beginning of his or her most recent turn. It doesn’t matter how long the permanent has been a creature. (2008-08-01)